Practices of Islam

God instructed the Muslims to practice what they believe in. In Islam there are five pillars:

A. Creed (Shahadah)

The verbal commitment and pledge that there is only One God and Muhammad is the Messenger of God, is considered to be the Creed of Islam.

B. Prayers (Salat)

The performance of the five daily prayers is required of Muslims.

C. Fasting (Saum)

Fasting is total abstinence from food, liquids and intimate relations from dawn to sunset during the entire month of Ramadan.

D. Purifying Tax (Zakat)

This is an annual payment of a certain percentage of a Muslim’s property, which is distributed among the poor or other rightful beneficiaries.

E. Pilgrimage (Hajj)

The performance of pilgrimage to Makkah is required once in a lifetime if the means are available. Hajj is, in part, a memorial to the trials and tribulations of Prophet Abraham, his wife Hagar and his eldest son, Prophet Ishmael.

Comments are closed.